Programme Model

The cross-governmental programme model is to contribute to professionalising the work on governmental programmes by making available a well-tested framework based on the international standard, MSP (Managing Successful Programmes)

Based on best practice

Experience shows that an increasing number of changes within government authorities are implemented in programme-like organisations. However, there is much uncertainty about the use of the programme concept and insufficient knowledge of what is required to implement a programme.

HM Government in the UK (creators of PRINCE2) has developed a model for programme leadership based on practical experience gained from successful programmes known as “Managing Successful Programmes”.

The cross-governmental programme model sets out to:

  • Make available a common programme management and programme leadership model for governmental programmes based on best practice
  • Professionalise governmental programme leadership and management through mandatory programme model requirements, including obligations with respect to the application of phases and the development of programme leadership documents
  • Ensure concept clarification including guidelines for choosing between a project, a programme or a portfolio
  • Make available experience and good practice from Danish and foreign programmes for the government sector – both to disseminate experience in an immature area and to avoid any parallel development of methods in various government institutions.

The elements of the model

The cross-governmental programme model consists of four elements:

  1. A phase model including four overall programme phases:
    • Identification of programme
    • Specification of programme
    • Management of programme waves
    • Closure of programme
  2. Nine programme themes contained in all phases of the programme and, therefore, constitute a superstructure to the phase model
  3. Seven fundamental principles for good programme leadership providing the framework for programme leadership
  4. A number of mandatory and optional products (in the process of being developed) to support the phase model.

This model displays all the elements of the cross-governmental programme model. Within the model there are the seven principles for programme leadership and the nine programme themes. Next, is the phase model; displaying four main phases. These are; the identification of the programme, the specification of the programme and the management of the programme waves, consisting of establishing provision of adaptive capacity and realization of gains, which is then assessed and prepared. The fourth phase is closure of the programme. The overall model also includes mandatory and optional leadership products.

Requirements regarding the application of the programme model

Programmes with ICT costs exceeding DKK 60 million where the ICT share at the same time constitutes a significant element of the programme must:

  • Follow the division of the course of change in the four main phases including supplementing the phase “Management of programme waves” into two additional phases
  • Develop mandatory programme products and apply templates
  • Establish mandatory governance fora
  • Review risk assessment in the Danish Council for ICT and submit a number of mandatory programme documents as well as selected project documents
  • Submit biannual progress reports to the Danish Council for ICT
  • Against the background of the progress reports, the Danish Council for ICT can decide to carry out a new risk assessment and/or recommend that an external programme review should be conducted.