The programme model

The cross-governmental programme model is voluntary to use and contributes to the management and coordination of several mutually dependent projects.

Based on best practice

The cross-governmental programme model is develop based on the international standard, MSP (Managing Successful Programmes) and all requirements and advice stems from concrete Danish and international experience.

The cross-governmental programme model

The cross-governmental programme model is set out to:

  • Provide a common programme management and programme leadership model for governmental programmes based on best practice
  • Professionalise governmental programme leadership and management through voluntary programme model requirements, including advice with respect to the application of stages and the development of programme leadership documents
  • Ensure concept clarification including guidelines for choosing between a project, a programme or a portfolio
  • Make available experience and good practice from Danish and foreign programmes for the government sector – both to disseminate experience in an immature area and to avoid any parallel development of methods in various government institutions.

The elements of the model

The cross-governmental programme model consists of four elements:

  1. A stage model including four overall programme stages:
    • Identification of programme
    • Specification of programme
    • Management of programme waves
    • Closure of programme
  2. Nine programme themes contained in all stages of the programme and, therefore, constitute a superstructure to the stage model.
  3. Seven fundamental principles for good programme leadership providing the framework for programme leadership
  4. A number of optional products to support the stage model.

This model displays all the elements of the cross-governmental programme model. Within the model there are the seven principles for programme leadership and the nine programme themes. Next, is the phase model; displaying four main phases. These are; the identification of the programme, the specification of the programme and the management of the programme waves, consisting of establishing provision of adaptive capacity and realization of gains, which is then assessed and prepared. The fourth phase is closure of the programme. The overall model also includes mandatory and optional leadership products.