Nordic Council of Ministers for Digitalisation - MR-DIGITAL

The Nordic ministers responsible for digital government meet in the Nordic Council of Ministers for Digitalisation (MR-DIGITAL). Nordic cooperation on digital government in MR-DIGITAL also includes the Baltic states, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. The Danish Minister for Finance represents Denmark.

The governments of the Nordic countries cooperate in the Nordic Council of Ministers to promote and strengthen Nordic interests and values in Europe and internationally. The Nordic Council of Ministers comprises Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden as well as the self-governing territories of Greenland, the Faroe Islands, and Åland. The digital policy cooperation in MR-DIGITAL also includes the ministers responsible for digital government in Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.

Learn more about Nordic-Baltic co-operation on digitalisation at

Digital North 2.0

As part of the Danish presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers in 2020, the Danish Minister for Finance was responsible for the the negotiation and adoption of a renewed ministerial declaration, Digital North 2.0. The declaration sets the ambitions of the Nordic-Baltic cooperation on digital government within MR-DIGITAL for the period 2021-2024 with a focus on three main areas:

  1. Increasing mobility and integration in the Nordic-Baltic region by building a common area for cross-border digital services
  2. Promoting green economic growth and sustainable development in the Nordic-Baltic region through data-driven innovation and a fair data economy for efficient sharing and re-use of data
  3. Promoting Nordic-Baltic leadership in the EU/EEA and globally in a sustainable and inclusive digital transformation of our societies

Each of these main areas of focus is supported by a number of goals and initiatives.

Read the Ministerial Declaration Digital North 2.0 at

Projects within MR-DIGITAL

Denmark takes an active role in the Nordic-Baltic cooperation on digital government, and the Agency for Digital Government participates in several cross-border projects as part of MR-DIGITAL. One of these is the Cross-Border Digital Services Programme (CBDS), which plans to develop and deploy cross-border digital services in the Nordic-Baltic region.

The four building blocks of the CBDS Programme are:

  • Building secure and trusted eID interoperability in the region,
  • Promoting cross-border data exchange between public authorities,
  • Enabling cross-border digital services,
  • An open funding mechanism, the CBDS Fund.

The Nordic-Baltic eID Project (NOBID) supports the first goal of the CBDS Programme by enabling access to national digital services to users from other countries in the region.

Learn more about the Cross Border Digital Services (CBDS) Programme at

Learn more about The Nordic-Baltic eID Project (NOBID) at